Aggravated Assault Law in New Jersey
Aggravated assault is a serious crime in New Jersey. If you are convicted of aggravated assault, then you may face penalties or jail time. The crime of aggravated assault is handled with New Jersey’s Aggravated Assault Law (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1). This law divides aggravated assault into three degrees of severity.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault Crime in New Jersey
The penalties for aggravated assault depend up on the type of aggravated assault committed.
Second Degree Penalties:
Aggravated assault with serious injury is a second degree crime. The charges for this include jail time between five to ten years and fines up to $15,000.
Third Degree Penalties:
If you cause or attempt to cause injury with a deadly weapon, then it is a third degree crime. The charges for third degree crime include jail time between three to five years and fines up to $15,000.
Fourth Degree Penalties:
If you commit aggravated assault by recklessly causing injury with a weapon, then it is a fourth degree crime. The prison term for a fourth degree conviction cannot exceed 18 months, and fines cannot be more than $1,000.
Domestic Violence Attorney New Jersey
Have you been charged with aggravated assault following a domestic dispute? Attorney Joel Silberman, a domestic violence attorney in NJ has knowledge of assault laws and penalties for aggravated assault. Call 201-420-1913 for a consultation.