The illegal selling of drugs is a criminal offense. When one is found selling drugs in New Jersey, there are stringent penalties. The penalties vary based on the volume of substance found when caught.
Penalties for Illegal Drug Sale in NJ
- Selling 25 pounds or more of marijuana, 5 pounds or more of hashish, 5 oz. or more of methamphetamine, 5 oz. or more of heroin and cocaine is a 1st degree crime and the accused is liable for a fine of up to $500,000 or at least ten (and up to 20) years in prison, or both.
- Selling 5 pounds but less than 25 pounds of marijuana, one pound but less than 5 pounds of hashish, ½ oz. but less than 5 oz. of methamphetamine, ½ oz. but less than 5 oz. of heroin and cocaine is a 2nd degree crime. Penalties include a fine of up to $75,000 or at least five (and up to ten) years in prison, or both.
- Selling 1 oz. but less than 5 pounds of marijuana, 5 grams but less than one pound of hashish, less than ½ oz. of methamphetamine, less than ½ oz. of heroin and cocaine is a 3rd degree crime. Penalties include a fine of up to $150,000 or at least three (and up to five) years in prison, or both.
- Selling less than one ounce of marijuana, less than 5 grams of hashish or any amount of a Schedule V substance incurs a fine of up to $25,000, up to 18 months in prison, or both.
- Selling drugs within 1,000 feet of school premises will earn at least one year of imprisonment for less than 1 oz. of marijuana and 3 years for other drugs. Penalties for selling drugs within 500 feet of a public place or property include a fine of up to $150,000 or 5 to 10 years imprisonment or both.
- Second or subsequent convictions will include twice the penalties imposed for the original offense.
Drug Crime Attorney in Jersey City, NJ
If you are charged with selling drugs in New Jersey, then you should contact Attorney Joel Silberman for highly qualified and devoted legal representation. Call today at 201-420-1913 for a consultation with Attorney Joel Silberman from The Law Offices of Joel Silberman.