Statutory rape is a sexual activity in which at least one person is below the age required to legally consent to the behavior. Statutory rape laws are premised on the supposition that minors are incapable of giving knowledgeable consent to sexual activities. In New Jersey 16 years and below is considered a minor, and when an adult (18 years and above) performs sexual activity with a minor it is statutory rape.
Statutory Rape and Penalties
Statutory rape is prosecuted under New Jersey’s sexual assault laws. Penalties depend on the ages of the defendant and victim and the conduct that occurred, as described below.
1.Aggravated sexual assault: Sexual penetration between a minor who is younger than 13 and a defendant of any age. Penalty for this offense is 10 to 20 years imprisonment.
2.Sexual assault: Sexual contact such as touching in a sexually gratifying way between a minor who is younger than 13 and a defendant who is at least four years older than the victim. It also includes sexual misconduct between a minor who is 13, 14, or 15 and a defendant who is at least four years older than the victim. Penalty for sexual assault is 5 to 10 years imprisonment.
3.Criminal sexual contact: Sexual contact between a minor who is 13, 14, or 15 and a defendant who is at least four years older than the minor. Penalty for this offense is up to 18 months imprisonment.
Registration of Statutory Rape Offender
If a person is convicted of statutory rape, then they must register as a sex offender.
Sex Crime Defense Attorney
Jersey City and Newark,New Jersey
If you are facing a statutory rape charge, then consult our experienced sex crime attorney at The Law Offices of Joel Silberman, LLC. We will discuss your case and prepare to represent you. Contact us to avail our services in Jersey City and Newark in New Jersey. Call us at (800) 889-3129(toll free)/ (201)-273-7070.